top of page

Soffit Hive II - Combining boxes

The hive filled two NUC boxes with comb and I was only able to frame up 5 of them at the site. Tonight I banded comb into 5 more frames and moved them all into the hive that was full of the bees that I vacuumed from the hive. I will take the hive back to the site and suck up the rest of the bees on Monday.

This hive is definitely going to go somewhere away from the rest of our bees. I will monitor it from a distance except to add a deep and I will definitely use a full suit and work at night while they are calmest. Next spring I will get a new queen. The bees are strong and if they survive and accept this move the hive will be in great shape next spring.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page